No transmission currently
MCRS Radio

MCRS Image Galleries

This journey is very long
Team for our people
Miss MCRS 2018
2018 MCRS Contestants
MCRS Contest 2018
MCRS Queen and 1st Princess
Miss MCRS 2018 - Queen
The Winner for 2018
Miss MCRS 1st Princess 2018
1st Princess
Celebrating 20 Years
Celebrating 20 Years
Celebrating 20 Years

Moutse Community Radio Station (MCRS) was founded by members of the Rural Women's Movement (RWM), a national organisation in South Africa, which lobbies around issues of concern to rural women.  The station operates with a board of trustees who set the overall vision and perspective, four management staff members who coordinate the training, administration, technical and programming departments, and 37 volunteer staff members who work as radio announcers or presenters (30 fulltime and 11 part-time). Moutse Community Radio is a member of the National Community Radio Forum. 

Our Current listenership is at 102 000 and we are aiming to reach more than 300 000 in the three years. We have celebrated 20th Anniversary on the 8th November 2017. MCRS broadcasts from studios located on R573 Waalkraal, on 96.3MHz in the FM band in Moutse in the local Municipality of Elias Motsoaledi and Sekhukhune District in Limpopo.  Moutse Community Radio broadcast area covers Limpopo and Mpumalanga, Nkangala District, Sekhukhune District and other parts of Polokwane and Pretoria. The radio station also has audio streaming whereby people tune via internet. We can be reached on 96.3fm in the most municipalities in both Limpopo and Mpumalanga. It is a non-profit organisation, run by dedicated team of volunteering staff who receives stipend at the end of each month. 

MCRS commenced operation in 1997, with a small band of volunteers broadcasting a limited range of programs from an old Department of Agriculture building. 10 years later, it transferred to its current location in Waalkraal provided by Elias Motsoaledi Local Municipality.




Thulane Mathibela
News Reader
Terccia Magoro
Radio Presenter
Vusi Makhubu
Radio Presenter
Sebolelo Malatji
Radio Presenter
Matilda Makge
Radio Presenter
Kholofelo Mothwa
Radio Presenter
Flora Vilakazi
News Reader
Vanessa Phora
News Reader










I am sure everyone heard the news about a planned Sentech switch off for the community radio stations that are unable to pay. We would like to inform you that your beloved radio station is not affected by the planned switch off. We are a self serving radio station and are not using any of the Sentech transmitters. On the other hand the affected radio stations are currently meeting with the relevant stakeholders to sort out the dilemma facing them. We will continue to serve you as your real friend to rely on. Regards MCRS News Team
A team that works together stays together!!! We are team MCRS!!
The Moutse community radio station popularly known by its listeners as “MCRS” held staff awards in honour of their best working employees. Miss MCRS Kamogelo Mohlala was the MC. Kamogelo Mohlala during her welcome address said “This awards ceremony is for thanking all the employees that worked very hard and to show that indeed we appreciate the hard work they put in” Mr. Mothwa(Marketing Department) said “We wish all the employees the best of luck and for those who will not be getting the awards, should have room for acceptance. Mr Martin Lebotse(Station Manager) said ” When a child works hard at home as a parent you show appreciation to that child and give him/her a token of appreciation. Just like in the comrade’s marathon they are all participants but not all of them are winners. We have those who made it and those who did not make it.” This award ceremony took time to honour the hardworking employees and to thank them by showing appreciation. The following is list of the winners. TOP 10 AWARD WINNING ARE: 1. Sebolelo Malatji-Pitseng tse dikgolo 2. Vanessa Phura-Best Volunteer 3. Oupa Mashaba-Most improved presenter of the year 4. Pretty Maphuthuma-Most improved part time volunteer 5. Vusi Makhubu-Most dedicated employee 6. Kgaogelo Mokgabudi-Best presenter of the year. 7. Winnie Mashabela-Most improved news presenter of the year 8. Hendrick Kekana-Best show of the year 9. Vusi Mkhwebane-Best employee 10. Mmemakulana Phura – Long service award   Mr Nkadimeng is the energy and strength to run MCRS(CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD) Said “Failure to plan is failure to perform, we come a long way, we used to use our own resources to run the station, the were no stipends and Mr Lebotse made sure that volunteers get stipends and to run the station was a struggle there were telephone bills that needed to be paid, there was no internet access, and we would borrow money to Mr Legobi. But things are different now ,we are even able to bless the employees” The National Radio Community has elected Moutse Comminity Radio station for nine categories namely: *Best talk show-Oupa Mashabela *Best show -Kholofelo Mothwa *Best entertainer-Raymond Mokgabudi *Best personality-Hendrick Kekana *Listeners Choice-Listeners choose *Long service award- Mmemakula Julia Phura *Education show-Oupa Mashabela *Best talk show-Sarah Aphane *Best radio station Congratulations to all the award winning employees. For exclusive pictures and videos do visit our Facebook page : Community Newspapers Initiative















Physical Address:

No. 7 Farm Watervaal,

Walkraal 34 JS, Kgobokwane

Mpumalanga, South Africa

Telephone: (013) 944 8901

Fax line    : (013) 944 8902

Email       :

Web         : 


Postal Address:

P.O. Box 2000

Elandsdoorn, 0485


Mpumalanga, South Africa



Check us on our Social Media

Platforms and send us messages

Please contact us should you

wish to donate to MCRS using

any other form


Subscribe to our newsletter